Remember ME - You Me and Dementia

Wednesday, March 12, 2008


This information was given by Union Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Shri Kapil Sibal, in the Lok Sabha ON 11th March 2008.

The disaster forecast centres available today are adequate to cater to the requirements of the country.

Disaster Forecast Centres have been set up in the country for different types of disasters. They are:

(i) Cyclone Warning: Six cyclone warning centres have been established in the country covering both East and West coasts.

(ii) Early Warning System for Tsunami: At Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS), Hyderabad, an Early Warning Centre for Tsunami covering the entire coastline of the country has been set up.

(iii) Flood Meteorological Offices: Ten such offices located, provide heavy rainfall warning to Central Flood Forecasting Division of Central Water Commission, which in turn issues the flood advisory/forecast. No earthquake forecasting centre has so far been established since it is not yet possible, anywhere in the world, to forecast earthquake. However, sixty seven earthquake monitoring centres are in operation across the country to detect and locate earthquakes occurring in and around the country. State-wise list of the Disaster Forecast Centres are enclosed in the annexure.

Besides, the Government is also implementing an Urban Earthquake Vulnerability Reduction Project in 38 cities failing in Seismic Zones III to V and having a population of 5 lac or more. The project aims at reducing the vulnerability of these cities to earthquakes by preparation of response plans at various levels, training of architects and engineers in seismic safe construction practices, etc.

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) has laid down guidelines for the ‘Management of Earthquakes’ in April 2007. the guidelines prescribe measures for Central Ministries and Departments and State Governments to prepare disaster management plans having specific components on earthquake risk management.

Government also send advisories to State Government and Union Territory from time to time on disaster mitigation and preparedness measures including those relating to earthquake through adoption of modern building bye-laws. All new buildings and structures built after 30th June 2007 have to comply with the earthquake resistant building code and the National Building Code 2005.

NDMA is also planning to initiate a National Earthquake Risk Mitigation Project (NERMP) during the 11th Five Year Plan to address the needs of:

(i) Capacity Building of 90,000 Engineers, 24,000 Architects, 225,000 Site supervisors, 225,000 Contractors and 450,000 Lead Masons and Masons;

(ii) Public Awareness on Earthquake Risk and Vulnerability;

(iii) Strengthening enforcement and regulation of building bye-laws and earthquake resistant building codes;

(iv) Strengthening the emergency response capabilities in the country; and

(v) Carrying out the structural safety audit of district hospitals in the 229 district hospitals is seismic zones IV&V.


Forget yourself for others, and others will never forget you.

No comments: